*success* Appeals for PIP - Tribunals — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

*success* Appeals for PIP - Tribunals

FedUpWithPain
FedUpWithPain Community member Posts: 5 Connected
edited July 2018 in PIP, DLA, and AA

Hi, I’m new to all this but I wanted people to know that there are some wonderful people out there. My issues started in mid-2016 I got the dreaded PIP letter, filled it in and waited although I knew what would happen and yes only got 10 and 10 points respectively - shocked, no not really after reading so many people were being treated the same.

However of course I appealed, mandatory (don’t think anybody has won on that score – ever) and then to the tribunals. at the 1st hearing almost a year later from my forms being sent in it transpired neither side had requested any paperwork from doctors/hospitals (I thought the DWP would do this, my mistake) but the judge understood as I was representing myself and put it back for a re-hearing.

Waited and waited and finally got a new hearing tail end of last year, 3 new panel members who I must admit looked like they had already decided I would not win. I know they are independent but it was this feeling I had, spend almost an hour and a half and left, got the decision a few days later, nope I lost and still had the same amount of points.

I asked for a copy of the reasons and this never appeared despite me asking 3 times, in the end I finally got it and was allowed to appeal to the higher tribunal on a point of law, this was allowed to happen despite the 1 month going over due to the fact that i never received a copy of the reasons and another judge allowed it on that grounds.