What do you think of the images we see of disabled people? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

What do you think of the images we see of disabled people?

Timm
Timm Community member Posts: 7 Connected
Hi, Im Timm and I am a photographer.  I am working on a project at the minute around images of disabled people and the lack of genuine and real life representations of disabled people.

There is such a lack of representation of disabled people in all our media and we saw a gap in stock images of 'normal' images, by that I mean images of day to day life, whether that is in the office, at work, in the gym, at a bar, parties etc that include disabled people.

We see a lot of images that seem to try and show people overcoming an impairment, of empty wheelchairs and people with their arms in the air and we want to just show day to day life!

I am really interested to know what you think about the images we currently see and what you would like to see.

If you can share your thoughts, that would be a real help!

Thanks and I look forward to chatting with you.

Comments

• mossycow
    mossycow Scope Member Posts: 500 Pioneering
    I believe I only really see heroes or villains... And not much in between, not much normality. 

E. G. We see bond villains missing limbs or paralympians...

I'd like to see more of people like me. Coming to terms with a new or different life. Having days where I'm glad to be alive and so lucky I live in 2018....and having days where medicine, appointments, wheelchairs etc let you down... 

Would love more characters who aren't defined by their 'disibility'. E. G. Liz Carr in Silent witness is fantastic. 

• Timm
    Thanks @mossycow, that's just what we're aiming for.

Not being defined by their 'disability' is important for us to convey through the images and videos,
  • mossycow
    mossycow Scope Member Posts: 500 Pioneering