Im a mum of 4 amazing children - feeling totally alone — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Im a mum of 4 amazing children - feeling totally alone

ems1979
ems1979 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Im a newbie, so hello to everyone. I'm a mum of 4 amazing children, Chloe, Harry, Morgan and Jack. Harry and Jack both have disabilities and I've spent their whole lives fighting for help and support for them to thrive in the difficult world we live in. Harry has an ASD with learning difficulties, sensory processing disorder and tics and Jack has possible ASD and sensory processing disorder (we are struggling to get him assessed) and is diagnosed with epilepsy and selective mutism. Because he's select mute it's hard for anyone to see the real Jack. My girls have also struggled with mental health issues but are currently doing well. Jack has recently been discharged from CAMHS as they felt a diagnosis wouldn't help him and his recent epilepsy diagnosis made it difficult for them to work with him. I just feel totally alone, lost and I'm unsure how best to help my son when the services that are supposed to won't. If there's anyone going through a similar situation I would be interested to hear how your dealing with feeling helpless and the lack of support.

Comments

• sophialob
    sophialob Community member Posts: 61 Courageous
    Hi @ems1979! I'm so sorry to hear about your struggles and just wanted to say what a wonderful mother you are to your children and how well you are doing. I'm so sorry it is so tough but I hope that you will be able to find some help on here and know that you are not alone. Best of luck and sending good wishes :smile:
  • Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    Welcome to the community @ems1979