Discrimination at work? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Discrimination at work?

Lonestar
Lonestar Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited September 2018 in Work and employment
Hello, I used to work as a Customer Assistant at a well known High Street Store in August.  I was the only deaf employee there.  I was hoping to get relocated to the nearest store, even though I told the Line-manager, the Store Manager and BIG rep that due to my deafness  I will have difficult finding work.  They did not take my concerns seriously.  . It has been nearly a month and most of my former hearing colleagues have found work.   I have applied for 5 vacancies in local retail stores but I have not have much luck. It is frustrating when they don't emailed me back even though they state they will asap.  They Make excuses like my lack of availability even though the post was for 20 hours
 I am waiting to hearing about an possible interview but I am frustrated as the local Deaf Centre have been trying to contact the branch to sort out getting an BSL Interpreter.  I fear the Manager will bother interviewing me as he want to interview me asap but it taking over 2 weeks.
  Now I am feeling very depressed and my confidence has hit zero.  I had another job as a Tutor teaching BSL for 15 years  but the local college cut the course.  I love teaching but it is proving difficult to find work as there is not much opportunities in my area.  I really do not know what my options are now and what other areas of work I can applied for. I would appreciate some advice. 

Comments

• Pippa_Alumni
    Pippa_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,793 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Lonestar, and a warm welcome to the community!