ESA Contribution Based Second Condition. — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

ESA Contribution Based Second Condition.

Options
Halim
Halim Community member Posts: 16 Listener
Hi all, 

I am new to all of this, and I am currently in the process of applying for ESA. 
I would like clarification/insight in to a few issues. 

Firstly, the contribution ESA.
I have contributed enough national insurance in the last two years to be able to qualify. But it is the second contribution condition that I'm finding tricky to understand...
  • Second contribution condition - in both of the last two complete tax years, you must have paid or been credited with, Class 1 or 2 contributions to the value of 50 times the lower earnings limit.
I'm unsure if I meet this condition. I received a pay off/ill health redundancy from work in Sep 2017, and paid almost £300 in NI in the mentioned tax year (2017/2018). I had been on long term sick prior to this date. With my last date of no SSP in January 2017. I have not claimed income support or any other benefits between September 2017 and now. Does this mean that I won't have received class 1 or 2 contributions for the last tax year (2017/18), despite paying a large lump sum of NI? And therefore not meet the second contribution condition. 

I think I am ultimately asking if I will have provided enough contribution in the 2017/18 tax year or will there be a gap in contributions? 

Thanks in advance. 

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,994 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi,

You'll need to check your NI contributions to see if there's any gaps. https://www.gov.uk/check-national-insurance-record

I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • Halim