Asked personal irrelevant info at assessment. — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Asked personal irrelevant info at assessment.

Options
jaigurudevaom
jaigurudevaom Community member Posts: 4 Listener
edited October 2018 in PIP, DLA, and AA
Hi. So my background is I have a mental health condition and I am also HIV+. The assessor asked me some very personal questions such as things that hapoened to me when I was a kid, plus asked me how myself and my wife got HIV. Surely that isn't relevant? It made me feel like a freak. 

Any ideas what I should do? I feel like putting in a complaint but I'm worried it might affect my claim

Comments

• Yadnad
    Yadnad Posts: 2,856 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Are your mental health difficulties in any way related to what happened to you as a kid or maybe the HIV condition?

Maybe the assessor was trying to build up a picture of your life and how you came to ask for PIP?
  • Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @jaigurudevaom
    Im sorry the experience was so upsetting for you, PIP is about how an impairment affect you in day to day life rather than the impairment itself so I am unsure as to why they would ask about how you got HIV.

The best way to start a complaint is to write to the DWP. You can use the address at the top of any letter you have about your Personal Independence Payment. 

You can also start a complaint by phoning the DWP. Remember to keep a record of when you call, who you speak to and the reference number for your complaint. 

• Telephone: 0345 850 3322 

• Textphone: 0345 601 6677  

You will need to tell the DWP (in your letter or phone call): 

• Your National Insurance number 

• Your full name, address and contact numbers 

• What happened, when it happened and how it affected you 

• What you want to happen to put things right 

Scope
    Senior online community officer