Work are trying to terminate my contract after an accident — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Work are trying to terminate my contract after an accident

simon_cut
simon_cut Community member Posts: 13 Listener
edited October 2018 in Work and employment
HI my work are trying to get rid of me on medical capability i used to be a driver had a accident damaged the nerves in my left leg and have developed severe arthritis in my knees cant walk have to use a wheelchair any more than about 10 yards. I have been working in the office on a temporary role for over 3 years but now they are saying my contract is as a driver and as i cant do that they are going to terminate my contract as i cant drive . seems very unfair has anyone else had anything like this happen to them ? Thanks Simon

Comments

• simon_cut
    HI my work are trying to get rid of me on medical capability i used to be a driver had a accident damaged the nerves in my left leg and have developed severe arthritis in my knees cant walk have to use a wheelchair any more than about 10 yards. I have been working in the office on a temporary role for over 3 years but now they are saying my contract is as a driver and as i cant do that they are going to terminate my contract as i cant drive . seems very unfair has anyone else had anything like this happen to them ? Thanks Simon
  • Markmywords
    Markmywords Community member Posts: 419 Pioneering
    It's very unusual for discrimination to happen after 3 years. Also, it wasn't a temporary role if it has been going that long.
    Not fit to perform a job that you haven't done for 3 years? What a load of rubbish.
    I suggest that you talk to ACAS.
  • simon_cut
    They keep saying it was a made up role and now there is no role for me and the business cant keep me . i feel they are doing now after 3 years because you only get 3 years to put a claim in as the initial accident happened at work