ESA Under-payment — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

ESA Under-payment

bigjock123
bigjock123 Community member Posts: 29 Connected
Hi, i have been claiming esa contributions based since 2011/12 after previously being on incapacity benefit. I also receive a small monthly private works pension of £85. I am also in receipt of DLA, high rate mobility & low rate care, my question is, will i be eligible for this back rated payment of esa? Thank you in advance for any help.

Comments

• Liam_Alumni
    Liam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 1,101 Pioneering
    Hi @bigjock123,

Welcome to Scope's online community! It's great to have you on board.

The Government has published a document on the ESA underpayments which might be of interest to you. They say:
    "Largely between January 2011 and October 2014 some people receiving Incapacity Benefit and Severe Disablement Allowance had their claims converted to contributory ESA. However, the possibility of whether they may also have been entitled to income-related ESA was not considered for all cases. This means they may have missed out on the payment of premiums, such as the Enhanced Disability Premium."

I hope this helps. Do let us know if you have any other questions!

Liam
  • bigjock123
    Thanks very much for your response Liam, don't know if this means i'll be eligible, but fingers crossed. Thanks again for your help.
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,321 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi, i have been claiming esa contributions based since 2011/12 after previously being on incapacity benefit. I also receive a small monthly private works pension of £85. I am also in receipt of DLA, high rate mobility & low rate care, my question is, will i be eligible for this back rated payment of esa? Thank you in advance for any help.
    Hi,