severe disabled premium — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

severe disabled premium

jj1960
jj1960 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
sorry if this has been approached before I am new to this today and would appreciate guidance as I have been told different answers to this
I am getting pip daily living at standard rate 
my wife is getting pip enhanced rate both daily living and mobility
we live in council housing on our own ie no children
I currently claim and get care allowance for my wife
I received a letter asking me to fill in the claim for sdp
am I able to claim this
 any info appreciated

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,352 Disability Gamechanger
    edited November 2018
    Hi,

Yes, you can claim the SDP providing no one claims Carers allowance for looking after you. I would also advise you to cancel your carers allowance claim for looking after your wife and then your wife will also be able to claim SDP. This will make you better off than you claiming carers allowance for looking after her. More money, so a win win situation all round.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • Government_needs_reform
    Government_needs_reform Community member Posts: 859 Pioneering
    edited November 2018
    Hi @jj1960 it's a simple form called IS10 asks you basic I formation, as you both recieve PIP I would just fill it in. It will not cause any problems.

I live on my own and recieve this SDP, I do know couples that both recieve PIP can apply and recieve it. As one of you is on enhance and the other is on standered daily care. I'm only guessing here, I'm not sure if you both must be recieveing Enhanced daily living.
    ⬇️