ESA stopped after two years — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

ESA stopped after two years

Options
babs1982
babs1982 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Hi
I’ve been receiving esa benefit for four years and had to go to an assessment every year except two years ago when they awarded it for two years straight. Last week I had another assessment and they have stopped my benefit. I then received a form in the post to re apply for esa. Is this what they do after two years , sign u off and the you have to apply again ? So confused!!! Would appreciate any help .

Comments

• Ami2301
    Ami2301 Community member Posts: 7,942 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @babs1982 welcome to the community! I am not sure however other members will know and will be in contact with you soon. Let us know if there is anything else we can help you with :)
    Disability Gamechanger - 2019
  • BenefitsTrainingCo
    BenefitsTrainingCo Community member Posts: 2,621 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi babs1982

The most important advice here is that you should consider challenging the decision to stop your benefit by way of mandatory reconsideration (and then appeal if necessary). It's not usually necessary to reapply for ESA following a decision to stop your benefit, but it is sometimes necessary usually when there has been a change of circumstances following the decision to stop benefit (e.g. a new diagnosis or a significant deterioration in your existing condition since the decision was made). If you think this is the case please let us know and we will advise you further.