Resigning from work and claiming esa — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Resigning from work and claiming esa

JamesHoover
JamesHoover Community member Posts: 5 Listener
Hello everyone I’m new to the forum and was looking for a bit of advice on a few things I’d possible please. Basically I have been signed off for the past month now by my doctor due to anxiety and depression. Which is primarily being triggered by my work place and being around people because I work in retail. I have been off sick a number of times over the years with the same condition but I’m at the point now where I’m ready to resign and find something new when I’m feeling better, but my question is this, I’m currently getting ssp so if I were to hand in my resignation to work now whilst I’m being signed off by my doctor could I then begin to claim esa benefit without any issues ? I’m in a full universal credit area. Any help would be greatly appreciated thank you . 

Comments

• JamesHoover
    Hello everyone I’m new to the forum and was looking for a bit of advice on a few things I’d possible please. Basically I have been signed off for the past month now by my doctor due to anxiety and depression. Which is primarily being triggered by my work place and being around people because I work in retail. I have been off sick a number of times over the years with the same condition but I’m at the point now where I’m ready to resign and find something new when I’m feeling better, but my question is this, I’m currently getting ssp so if I were to hand in my resignation to work now whilst I’m being signed off by my doctor could I then begin to claim esa benefit without any issues ? I’m in a full universal credit area. Any help would be greatly appreciated thank you . 
  • clarkjohnson
    clarkjohnson Community member Posts: 210 Pioneering