Carers Allowance and income ESA — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Carers Allowance and income ESA

bignige121
bignige121 Community member Posts: 6 Listener
Hi

My wife has been receiving PIP for a number of years. She has also been receiving Carers Allowance for a number of years for our son who is special needs.

The PIP has been stopped even after a mandatory reconsideration. We will not appeal.

I have a very low income from a 20 hour per week job and I am also a part-time student 20 hours per week.

My wife has not worked for 14 years - since our son was born.

I have recently been told about income based ESA. Will we qualify?

I have read that you cannot get income-based ESA if you are receiving Carers Allowance - but also that if you qualify for ESA the Carers Allowance will be stopped - but you will instead receive the "Carers Premium" as part of ESA??

Can anyone help with this please?
N

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,356 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi,

All areas are now a full Universal credit area so your wife will not be able to claim Income related ESA, it will have to be Universal credit.

As she's been receiving carers allowance for looking after your son then she maybe able to claim New style contributions based ESA but a sick note will be needed from her GP to be able to claim this. It will also depend on how long she's been receiving the carers allowance for.

It's extremely difficult to give the correct advice about what benefits to claim on an internet forum and you should both speak to your local CAB for a full benefits check.

As for your son's PIP is there any reasons why you're not taking it to Tribunal? Most MR decisions remain the same and most people end up taking it to Tribunal. 71% of those who appear in person have a decision in their favour. It's a long process but well worth considering it.