I need help: Carers Premium? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I need help: Carers Premium?

Options
bignige121
bignige121 Community member Posts: 6 Listener
Hi

My wife has been receiving PIP for a number of years. She has also been receiving Carers Allowance for a number of years for our son who is special needs.

The PIP has been stopped even after a mandatory reconsideration. We will not appeal.

I have a very low income from a 20 hour per week job and I am also a part-time student 20 hours per week.

My wife has not worked for 14 years - since our son was born.

I have recently been told about income based ESA. Will we qualify?

I have read that you cannot get income-based ESA if you are receiving Carers Allowance - but also that if you qualify for ESA the Carers Allowance will be stopped - but you will instead receive the "Carers Premium" as part of ESA??

Can anyone help with this please?
N

Comments

• steve51
    steve51 Community member Posts: 7,153 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @bignige121

Good Afternoon it’s great to meet you today ???

We have got some info on “Benefit’s” here on our site!!!!!!

https://search.scope.org.uk/s/redirect?collection=scope-meta&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.scope.org.uk%2Fsupport%2Fdisabled-people%2Fbenefits%2Fadvice&index_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.scope.org.uk%2Fsupport%2Fdisabled-people%2Fbenefits%2Fadvice&auth=cS5QioUSKAAiHJ7Ut3EdBQ&profile=_default&rank=1&query=benefits

Please please let me know if there’s nothing in the info for you???

We have got a number off “Benefit Advisors” here on our site 

• blue_zebra
    blue_zebra Community member Posts: 74 Connected
    Options
    Welcome to the community @bignig121,

as as suggested by steve51 previous, there's lots of advice on benefits on the link provided and benefit advisors on hand to answer question also, please do see if they can assist you further on this matter,