Struggling at work — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Struggling at work

Nathos1
Nathos1 Community member Posts: 5 Listener
edited February 2019 in Work and employment
Hello just joined this forum, I have developed Arthiritis in my ankles, and have had to cut my working hours down because of the pain, and fluctuating abilty to stand for 8 hours or more. I'm in the process of finding out if it's Inflammatory or Rhemutoid Arthiritis. I was hoping for any advice on what kind of work is out there and how to go about applying for it with the problems I now have.

Comments

• Ami2301
    Ami2301 Community member Posts: 7,942 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Nathos1 welcome to the community! 

Have you spoken to your employer to see if they can make any reasonable adjustments?
    Disability Gamechanger - 2019
  • Nathos1
    They are a little nderstanding, but I work as a chef, I've gone from a 48  hours a week to 33 hours  but on bad days even find that hard and painful, working in a kitchen it's difficult to make  adjustments as I have to stand for entire shift as the restaurant is open all day.  I'm looking around to see what kind of work I could do as I probably won't be able to continue being a chef as it's fast paced and can be very busy.
  • Ami2301
    Ami2301 Community member Posts: 7,942 Disability Gamechanger
    There is loads of information in our work section which may be of use to you :)
    Disability Gamechanger - 2019
  • Nathos1
    Cheers gonna look now?
  • thespiceman
    thespiceman Community member Posts: 6,388 Disability Gamechanger
    edited February 2019
    Hello @Nathos1 Pleased to meet you welcome.

Thank you for joining and sharing .  I am one of the community champions who guide and advise, help new members who join.

Sorry what has happened. I know from my own personal experiences. Understand at one time looking to work in the food industry.