How could social services improve for you? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

How could social services improve for you?

SophieW
SophieW Community member Posts: 5 Listener
edited February 2019 in Research and opportunities
Hi everyone,

Thank you for welcoming me into your online community :)

I'm a Social Work student and I'm currently trying to gain an insight into the lived experiences of adults with disabilities. In particular, I'd love to hear your view on whether adults with disabilities can equally access housing/work/shopping/exercise etc? I'd also be very interested to find out about your experiences with social services and how you think social services could improve to help you better?  

Any responses would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance,
Sophie

Comments

• Pippa_Alumni
    Pippa_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,793 Disability Gamechanger
    Welcome to the community @SophieW, and all the best for your research!
  • Ami2301
    Ami2301 Community member Posts: 7,942 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @SophieW welcome to the community! Does your research involve carers as well?
    Disability Gamechanger - 2019
  • SophieW
    Hi @Ami2301, thank you! Yes it does - I'm trying to get as much of an insight as possible so reaching out to all adults with disabilities, carers, family/friends and practitioners :) 
  • Ami2301
    I'm not a carer myself but I have had a poor experience being cared for by carers from social services. I am happy to speak about it if it helps your research :)
  • SophieW
    @Ami2301 it would be really useful to hear your experience, thank you! :)
  • Ami2301
    Upon discharge from a rehabilitation centre, I was due to have a carer every morning, every day. They never arrived on time, they were always late.