Disabled toilets — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Disabled toilets

SpendingSpoons
SpendingSpoons Community member Posts: 16 Connected

I have already posted in the Research opportunities page but wondered if it was ok to post this here as well? If not, then please forgive me.

I’m a 3rd year anthropology student, who also suffers from a collection of disabling conditions, including fibro, NEAD and arthritis. I’m interested in chatting to people about their experiences of using disabled loos as part of my dissertation.

Do you find your body becomes judged by others wondering if you are ‘allowed’ to be using the disabled toilet? I have so-called ‘invisible’ conditions and I am frequently subjected to looks of distrust when I use a disabled loo.

I will not use ANY discussions here as part of my project without express permission from people, but it would be really useful to hear other people’s experiences.

If people are uncomfortable speaking here I’m more than happy to chat in private =)

Comments

• Misscleo
    Misscleo Community member Posts: 647 Pioneering
    Does your disability require that you use a disabled toilet ? If yes then use them.
    But if your one of these people who use a disabletoilet when you can use any toilet. Then be decent and leave the disabled toilets for disabled people.
    Use your head before using a disabled.loo
  • SpendingSpoons
    @Misscleo do you ever get able-bodied people saying that 'its ok, I'll be quick' or 'its just a toilet like any other - if no one's using it, its ok'? I've noticed this alot.
  • Paulines7
    Paulines7 Community member Posts: 18 Listener