Been declared as LCW what does that mean for me now? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Been declared as LCW what does that mean for me now?

Nigel83
Nigel83 Community member Posts: 4 Listener
edited April 2019 in Universal Credit (UC)
Hi my name is nigel. i have been handing in fit notes for the last year. Until last monday when i had my work capability assessment. The next day i received a email telling me i had been declared has having limited capabilities for work. So as i have no idea what that now means could anyone please explain what that now means for me and will i now get any backdated money or not thanks

Comments

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi 
    I'm no expert but my understanding is that you only get any additional pay and back pay if awarded LCWRA and not LCW this payment was stopped for anyone applying after April 2017. 
    Your work coach will advise what you need to do now. 
    There is lots advise on internet and here for you to research.
  • Nigel83
    Thought so but wasn't sure think I'm going to appeal that decision anyway. Thanks @janer1967
  • janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    I was initially declared fit for work so appealed and did MR and got same decision so went to tribunal and got awarded LCWRA. So it can be worth appealing 
  • thespiceman
    thespiceman Community member Posts: 6,388 Disability Gamechanger

Hello @Nigel83  Pleased to meet you welcome.

Thank you for joining and sharing.

I am one of the team of community champions who guide, advise and help new members who join the community.

We have lots on our website on benefits and appeals.

Please can I advise speak to CAB about anything benefits.  They have expertise and knowledge.

Something to consider. You could also speak to your work coach they should be able to advise you.

Please take care.