I've seen a lot of things that need to be challenged — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I've seen a lot of things that need to be challenged

bonnielassie
bonnielassie Community member Posts: 26 Courageous
This is my first time here. For most of my working life I've worked with disabled people. Now I'm disabled too. Already I've seen a lot of things that need to be challenged. For example, a man came up to me when I was on my mobility scooter and said 'that looks like great fun! Are you enjoying it motoring round this lake?' I replied by saying 'i'd much rather walk round'! He realised what he'd said!

Comments

• Ami2301
    Ami2301 Community member Posts: 7,942 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @bonnielassie welcome to the community! Unfortunately, we still have a long way to go as to challenging comments from others! Would you like to tell us a bit about yourself? :)
    Disability Gamechanger - 2019
  • Antonia_Alumni
    Antonia_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 1,780 Pioneering
    Hi @bonnielassie welcome to the community :) How are you doing today? Thank you for sharing this with us. I agree, it's a challenge but hopefully people think a little longer before speaking to people.

We have a disabled people discussions group, you may like to join.

Please let us know if you have any questions.
  • Adrian_Scope
    Adrian_Scope Posts: 10,836 Scope online community team
    edited May 2019
    Welcome to the community @bonnielassie and thank you for sharing.

Brilliant response. I bet he felt like a bit of a plonker after that. :wink:
    Community Manager
    Scope
  • bonnielassie