What's there to lose? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

What's there to lose?

mrbo
mrbo Community member Posts: 8 Listener
Hi....I'm a newbie here so please be gentle...

I am trying to get some ACCURATE information on how my ESA and Housing Benefit will be affected if I get married.

Currently I receive full Housing Benefit as a Council Tenant and Income Related ESA with severe disability enhancements and am in the Support Group as its unlikely that I will ever be able to work again due to my conditions. (I also get PIPS but gather that would be unaffected)

My understanding is that if I marry and my wife is working, then I would automatically be placed back on contributory ESA. I'm reading as a result, I would lose all my ESA disability enhancements which aren't available on CB ESA and would only qualify at best for basic CB ESA. On the plus side (if there is one) I'm reading that my wife to be salary would have no further impact on CB ESA irrespective of her earnings level.

Are these assumptions/things I am reading correct?? Basically I'm trying to assertain the impact on my benefits by being married.

Is there a scenario where the level of her income would result in me losing all ESA benefit??

How would my Housing Benefit be affected?

Further, should my wife to be, not work and thus not have any income would being married alone put me on to CB ESA and thus lose my disability enhancements or would I remain as I am on IR ESA and full Housting Benefit?

Any input and guidance on the above would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance 

Comments

• Ami2301
    Ami2301 Community member Posts: 7,942 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @mrbo welcome to the community! I am unsure however our community members will be in contact with you soon to advise :)
    Disability Gamechanger - 2019
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,343 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi,