I am a software developer and have Achondroplasia — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I am a software developer and have Achondroplasia

Jrg91
Jrg91 Community member Posts: 6 Connected
edited June 2019 in Coffee lounge
Hi all, 
My name is Jacob. Always been keen to join scope and learn more about it. Really happy to join. 
I work as a software developer, I'm a bit of a geek with my interests and often talking about code and video gaming!  
I have Acondroplasia the most common form of dwarfism. 
As public attitudes can sometimes be rough, I've always wanted to help change this. I want to push past the stereotypes cast by society, and show I'm an everyday guy with a personality, dreams, a job, hobbies etc. Acondroplasia is only a part of who I am. 
Always happy to answer any questions, and I'm also really happy to join this community! 
Thanks
Jacob

Comments

• Antonia_Alumni
    Antonia_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 1,780 Pioneering
    Welcome to the community @Jrg91 how are you doing today? :)

Thank you for sharing this with us. That sounds interesting, coding seems complex but intriguing. How long have you been working as a software developer?

Absolutely, it's just a part of who you are.
  • Jrg91
    Doing great thanks @Antonia_Scope. Hope you are having/had a great day too. 

Coding can be, but it can be really intresting esp. to build something from nothing and see the results. Ive been a developer professionally for about 4 1/2 years. But been developing outside as an intrest for about 9/10 years. Started with an intrest in making video games which lead onto a more general programming intrest.

Thanks for the welcome
  • Ami2301
    Ami2301 Community member Posts: 7,942 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Jrg91 welcome to the community! :)
    Disability Gamechanger - 2019
  • Jrg91
    Thanks @Ami2301 glad to be a part of it :smile: