ESA backdated and Disability Premiums — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

ESA backdated and Disability Premiums

Options
GG44
GG44 Community member Posts: 28 Connected
Hi , I cannot get help I need in my Local area as it is so busy and not yet as familiar as it seems your Forum seems though I cannot find how certain Benefits may work myself yet , in particular the possible back payment regarding ESA , and if possible to claim for Disability premiums if I am entitled to.
I am a single male aged late 50s and living alone. I had been receiving Incapacity benefit since around late 1980s and then when I was migrated to ESA around 2014 or so I was told that I was automatically put onto Contributions based ESA Support Group and am still on CB ESA , though I'm not sure if they maybe top it up with some Income Related ESa. When I phoned the DWP last year they said that I would be worse off if I claimed Income Related ESA and they were not sure if I was entitled to any Disability Premiums anyway. I mentioned that I may be entitled to backdated Disability Premiums but they said I probably wasn't and anyway because I receive some Reduces Earnings allowance and Industrial injuries then if I claimed any Premiums or Income Related ESA then if I was paid any more then they would take my REA/ IIDB from me and thaat would not just be the case now but also when I was Migrated from IB to ESA  several years ago.