Bethany Dodgson: Travel as a carer with a chronic illness — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Bethany Dodgson: Travel as a carer with a chronic illness

Options
bethd15
bethd15 Community member Posts: 5 Listener

Hello, my name is Bethany and I am 26 years old. I have F.V.S (Fetal Valproate Syndrome), Epilepsy, M.E & an Underactive Thyroid. I currently work in the hospitality industry as well as that, I am a carer for my mum and brother who have challenges from a range of disabilities and medical conditions.

Because of all this, travelling or even a holiday can be a headache before we pick the destination! What type of medical insurance will we need? Is there any medication which is illegal in the country we wish to go to? Will the place be suitable for my mum or brother? how long will we be travelling for or issues at the airport, just to name a few.

With all the questions we need answering, its always best to start with the simple tasks: first pick the destination, for the last few years, I went to New York, U.S.A and will be taking my brother next year! After I have picked the destination, I check on the UK government website for information about medication, visa requirements etc. The next step can take a few days which is finding the best insurance cover (in 2011 I had my second seizure in Turkey which resulted in a week stay in hospital). As it gets closer to the date, I ring the airline I am travelling with and explain the conditions we have and that we will need assistance. Last year my local airport brought out invisible disability awareness lanyards and it made being in the airport so much easier for my brother. Border control made him feel at ease with everything and we got boarded first. Another task that needs to be completed is the doctors’ note to carry the medication into a different country.

Aircraft cabin