ESA -> UC & HB -> Need advice urgent — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

ESA -> UC & HB -> Need advice urgent

Options
richydee2019
richydee2019 Community member Posts: 16 Listener
Hi everybody, im very new to all this computer stuff but iv got a couple of important questions i need answering and after looking around on the internet iv been advised to come to this forum. 

I will dive right in and explain my story.

I live at my dads and i am currently claiming ESA , but my dad is selling the house and has given me a thousand pound to find a new home.

I found the flat and i viewed it and iv spoken with the agent.

I then went into the job center to discuss my options. regarding housing benefit and benefits ect as i did not know where else to go.

I was promptly informed that to claim any housing benefits i must end my claim for ESA and start a new claim for Universal Credit.

This  took me by surprise and i am now wondering what should i do.

I only receive £175 a fortnight on ESA and i am told i would receive a little more on UC around £330 . So thats ok i guess.

Then theirs the rent bit. Im not sure what rent they will pay.

And also if they will pay full rent of £350 per month , when will they begin making the payments to my new landlord, as i would have to put up the 1st months rent.

I am assuming that i would also get an advance from UC and possibly the rent to. so i can cover a months rent either way.

But then how long until my landlord starts to receive rent payments, and how will i know if they have or not and will i be entitled my money back.