DLA TO PIP - NEW TEN YEAR REVIEW — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

DLA TO PIP - NEW TEN YEAR REVIEW

Options
SeanyKate
SeanyKate Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Hi all,  Apologies in advance for all the questions. I am a healthcare professional in Scotland and have been trying to find out this information for a long period of time. I have a degenerative nerve and muscle wasting medical condition which causes me pain, balance and mobility issues. I am still currently on an indefinate award of dla on the full mobility and care component, I have a blue badge for driving/parking. Does anyone have any information regarding the waiting times for indefinate awards from dla to pip, and in reading some article on 'Ten year pip reviews for people with most severe health conditions' , would i still have to be reassessed in person from dla to pip, and if so do I base my answers on good days or bad days in living with this nerve and muscle wasting medical conditon, as it depends day to day how I am affected with pain/balance/mobility? Hope someone can help? Best wishes, SeanyKate. :)

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,239 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi,

You will eventually be ask to apply for PIP if you were under 65 on 8th April 2013. There's still a lot of people waiting to invited but it will definitely happen at some point in the future.

Most people have face to face assessments yes, even those on high awards for DLA. DLA and PIP are different benefits and an indefinite award of DLA doesn't automatically mean you'll be awarded PIP successfully. It will depend on how your conditions affect your ability to carry out daily activity based on the PIP descriptors. It's not about a diagnosis.