Do You Accept Your Disability — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Do You Accept Your Disability

Connie00
Connie00 Community member Posts: 252 Pioneering

I used to be able to do sport

Now I watch from the side lines very jealous that I can’t join in

I used to walk & run

I took this for granted, without a second thought for those who couldn’t   

I used to work and lead people

I was a Manager in a leading multi-national company

I used to go out without taking necessary aids with me

I could go to the pub clubs or friends without a thought

I used to drive

I once had total freedom

II used  to have a life

Now I have a very different life

I find it very difficult to accept my life, I feel cheated. I miss my old life, my so-called friends all dwindled off to other ventures, those I could not attend because of my disability. I need to use a wheelchair or mobility scooter when out. I have to be mindful about eating out. I can only stay local on my mobility scooter. I miss interacting with people. I miss the drive I once had when working. I miss my old life.

How do you feel?

Comments

• April2018mom
    April2018mom Posts: 2,882 Disability Gamechanger
    I tell myself never give up. Despite struggling with weak numeracy skills (dyscalculia) I am pursuing further education. This morning I was at the gym working out by myself before work. Can I suggest something useful? Try keeping a diary. It might help.
    Are you a member of any clubs or not? They are a good way to meet new people and have fun as well. Find out what is on offer in the area. Go see what happens. 
  • Ami2301
    Ami2301 Community member Posts: 7,942 Disability Gamechanger