I keep getting fired — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I keep getting fired

DavTho1983
DavTho1983 Community member Posts: 6 Listener
edited October 2019 in Autism and neurodiversity
I am a web developer. I have mostly worked with startups with little or no HR in place. Every time I disclose I am on the autistic spectrum, I get fired.

It usually starts with my disclosure, then they start talking slowly to me, then they won't believe I've understood things and there is just no getting through to them about what I understand, then they let me go and tell me it's about technical skills.

I feel I do need to tell people about my disability because they like to put me in situations that stress me out and make me vulnerable, where there are loud noises or lots of people. I also get overloaded with lots of information from different sources.

I am at my wit's end - I feel I will never be able to have a job where I use my intelligence or ability to learn a lot of complex skills quickly. I am so tired of being talked down to by people who do not understand what I mean when I tell them their graph database won't work because the edges mean they have circular relationships and they don't get how I could see so they ignore it.

This used to happen in school with my teachers then I would ace the exam, but I thought it would get better as an adult. It just seems that the point of having a job is not doing well or contributing or solving problems, but something else I can't understand.

Any advice about getting a job and keeping it?

Comments

• Adrian_Scope
    Adrian_Scope Posts: 10,821 Scope online community team
    edited September 2019