Difficulties with preparing food — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Difficulties with preparing food

Options
akakay
akakay Community member Posts: 1 Listener
edited October 2019 in Research and opportunities
Hello,
My name is Kay and I am a Mechanical Engineering student. I am currently undertaking a project  researching the challenges encountered by disabled people when preparing food. Specifically I am looking into how food preparation methods and products can be improved to help those who have difficulty using their hands, and designing a product that can be of aid. 
If you could spare some time to answer some questions to give me a better understanding of your experiences with this topic, that would be greatly appreciated!

If you feel comfortable, please provide your age, description of disability and how severely this affects you on a day to day basis.

Questions:
How regularly do you cook?
What part of food preparation is the most difficult to do and what problems do you face?
What issues do you find with products that are currently on the market?
How do you overcome these issues at present?
What aspects would you want a product to have to make food preparation easier?
How do you handle peeling and/or chopping?

Thank you for taking your time to read this, I look forward to your responses and hope I can use this information to make a difference!

Kind regards,
Kay

Comments

• Dotty123
    Dotty123 Community member Posts: 492 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi I have no use of my fingers and can only use thumb finger I can’t hold cutlery or cook open cans .i have to use cup stuck to table and use straw .do you have any idea of anything easier to use would be good if there was mug that sticks to table and some how straw flexible 
  • Dotty123
    Dotty123 Community member Posts: 492 Pioneering
    Options