Benefits and Job help please. — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Benefits and Job help please.

JellyBaby88
JellyBaby88 Community member Posts: 22 Connected
Hello
I signed up to this forum after a google search, read a post about ESA, and thought I'd ask for help here.

I have been employed for 8 years, was diagnosed a year ago with RA. My issues originaly started in my knees but is now everywhere in my body, my hands, wrists and fingers are particularly affected.
Had been off sick between September 2018 to January 2019 and I returned to work on reduced hours. I was struggling to manage my job, I am a commis chef, and I spoke with my line manager about my issues. We had a meeting with HR and I ended up walking out of the meeting in tears and I told my boss that I would be going back on sick leave as they would not help me.

My employer have been useless, the only reasonable adjustment they would make was to reduced hours. I have contacted ACAS and DLS, both have told me conflicting advice and I can not for love or money get the right help.

I have currently been off sick since 3rd May 2019, I had full pay for 6 months and half pay for 6 months, I have about 2 months of half pay left and my SSP runs out at the end of November. I have been getting a small top up from UC and I recently put in a claim for ESA, I also get PIP.