Direct payments — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Direct payments

kenny
kenny Community member Posts: 74 Courageous
I have a car on the motobility scheme, I also use direct payments for taxis as my dad works during the day. as I have mental health, as well as cerebral palsy, it is vital I get out during the day, my mum is my main carer, and is 71years old, and has health issues of her own,  I use taxis to get out during the day to go to the gym, with helps with my mental health, and gives my mum a break. Social services are trying to stop me using direct payment for taxis, on the grounds that I have a motobility car, I have been using them for eight years, for taxis, I believe that they can use their discretion and allow me to use the direct payment for transport, am I correct in thinking this?.

Comments

• exdvr
    exdvr Community member Posts: 331 Pioneering
    kenny said:
    I have a car on the motobility scheme, I also use direct payments for taxis as my dad works during the day. as I have mental health, as well as cerebral palsy, it is vital I get out during the day, my mum is my main carer, and is 71years old, and has health issues of her own,  I use taxis to get out during the day to go to the gym, with helps with my mental health, and gives my mum a break. Social services are trying to stop me using direct payment for taxis, on the grounds that I have a motobility car, I have been using them for eight years, for taxis, I believe that they can use their discretion and allow me to use the direct payment for transport, am I correct in thinking this?.

I'm going to have a rant here because what gives them the right to stop you spending your money in any way you like?     GRRR!!!  

Best wishes.

DLTBGYD

• atlas46
    atlas46 Community member Posts: 826 Pioneering
    Hi @kenny

In simple terms, you are correct.

Direct Payments, as the name suggests, are to empower the recipient.