What's your favourite act of kindness? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

What's your favourite act of kindness?

Chloe_Scope
Chloe_Scope Posts: 10,586 Disability Gamechanger
edited November 2019 in Coffee lounge
Today, 13th November, is World Kindness Day!

It may seem obvious to show others kindness and to just support someone who needs a helping hand, but I know this isn't always the case!

Kindness really can make someone's day and put a smile on their face. However, this can be achieved my the smallest thing. This could be helping someone onto a train or picking up something they have dropped.

As a disabled young person I believe I actually experience the kindness of others more often. Yes, I have a lot of negative experiences with the general public, but I also have a lot of very positive ones. It was only last week that I was lost in a train station (because assistance hadn't turned up) and a stranger offered to guide me to the barriers. This simple thing really did make my day and allowed me to carry on independently.   

What act of kindness have you done recently? Have you recently received an act of kindness? Let us know in the comments below!
Scope

Comments

• Ails
    Ails Community member Posts: 2,256 Disability Gamechanger
    Glad to hear about the act of kindness from the good samaritan who helped you last week, Chloe.  I can imagine that when your assistance didn't turn up that it made you feel rather anxious.  It does restore your faith in human kind when people do kind things.  

When I am out on my own in my wheelchair or mobility scooter I do find a lot of kind people who hold doors open for me and ask if they can help me in any way.  Most of the time I can manage and politely decline, but sometimes am only too glad for their kindness.  :smile:
    Winner of the Scope New Volunteer Award 2019.   :)
  • April2018mom
    April2018mom Posts: 2,882 Disability Gamechanger