Can he claim Carers Allowance? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Can he claim Carers Allowance?

Options
sandrajoy
sandrajoy Community member Posts: 2 Listener
I receive the highest rate DLA,I am disabled and can not walk at all unaided.I care for my son who receives ESA and has never worked at all.He's got mental illness and lives with me.I now need more care  like I can no longer can not get out to shop at all.Can he claim Carers Allowance?

Comments

• Connie00
    Connie00 Community member Posts: 252 Pioneering
    Options

My Name is Connie00

I am one off the community Champion’s here at Scope.  it’s really nice to meet you.

A very warm welcome to the Community. Thank you for reaching out to us, , We are always here to lend support, help, and advise where we can, I'm not an expert on this subject, so I have added some links that maybe useful, if your Son is in receipt of ESA this might be affected.

https://www.scope.org.uk/advice-and-support/carers-allowance-ca/

https://www.gov.uk/carers-allowance

If we can be of any assistance to you please don’t hesitate to contact us

@connie00   :) 

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,033 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    HI and welcome,

Just to give you some more information along side the links that @Connie00 has posted above.

You say you receive the highest DLA but you don't say which part. For your son to be able to claim carers allowance for looking after you then you need to be claiming either mid/high rate care DLA.

If another person claims carers allowance for looking after you then he won't be able to claim it.

May i just ask of your son is claiming PIP daily living or DLA mid/high rate care?
    Do you claim any other benefits besides DLA and does anyone else live with you, or is it just the 2 of you?