Lack of accommodation for under 65 — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Lack of accommodation for under 65

Jayneevans
Jayneevans Community member Posts: 1 Listener
My name is jayne I'm 60 years old, have had a  very active and interesting life. Just over 3yr ago I had the  1st recognisable Symptom of a  Neurological disorder And my life changed. I am no longer independent and no longer drive a  Car and I have   Carers to help make with everyday tasks. I am an artist and still manage to paint with help and  create textile art this, really helps my mental wellbeing. I am coming to terms with my life as It is now.
 There are many issues  That have an effect on the disabled community but the  Issue he found most  Frustrated and appalled by is the lack of suitable accommodation for disabled people under the age of 65. My home is not at all safe for me, I'm on my local council and housing associations list , but there is very little available that is suitable. I could be offered a flat or an apartment in a sheltered complex. The problem is I have my 4 cats, and I will not move without them they are more than pets to me, that's why I need a bungalow.  As I stated earlier not a problem if I was 65. 
Why doesn't anyone know about this hidden crisis 
Thank you for listening. 

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,363 Disability Gamechanger
    HI and welcome,

I'm one of the community champions here on scope. Unfortunately, there's huge waiting lists for social housing and there's even more of a shortage of bungalows in most areas. Sadly it's not usual for a bungalow not to be given to those under a certain age.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • Chloe_Scope