Studying IT and want to work from home. — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Studying IT and want to work from home.

Will33
Will33 Community member Posts: 41 Listener
Hi. I am studying IT part-time at the moment online and I want to work from home but don't know if working from home will affect my ESA income-related and in the support group. And what I need to report only if I make money. 

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,338 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi,

This will come under permitted work and you need to get permission before doing any work. You must work less than 16 hours per week and earn no more than £131.50 after deductions. https://www.entitledto.co.uk/help/Permitted-Work-Rules

Any weeks you earn more than that amount then you won't be entitled to ESA.

Do be aware that if any work you do contradicts the reasons for your ESA claim then you could be re-assessed early and it could go against you when the decisions been made.

I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • Will33
    Hi. So even If I do part-time IT course online and do permitted work it won't clash together because I was told it would both be counted as full-time work or full-time commitment? 
  • poppy123456
    A part time IT course online is not the same as doing permitted work. They are both completely different.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
  • Will33
    Is it possible if I fill in the permitted work form after I have started my business because I don't know how much I will make in my first month?
  • Will33