Limited Capability Awarded But Back date is questionable — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Limited Capability Awarded But Back date is questionable

CMAB
CMAB Community member Posts: 8 Listener
I have been handing in sick notes since 30 October 2018.
I did not get an assessment for over a year, and was awarded LCWRA FROM August 2019. after finally having assessment on 3rd January 2020
Because In july 19 I changed my claim from sole claimant to joint with my partner. And there was no break in my claim for universal credit.
I believe I should be awarded from date of handing in sick notes and not from when my claim changed to Joint as I have never missed a date. My assumption would be that I would be entitled from January 2019 approximately meaning my back date would be substantially more of 12 payments as opposed to the back date of £336 they are currently giving me. anyone any advice? I have contested it but looking for support around this thanks in advance

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,330 Disability Gamechanger
    HI and welcome,

How much backdated money you're entitled to will depend on when your assessment period runs from because there's a full 3 month waiting period. This means that the LCWRA element isn't paid until the 4th assessment period.

May i also check this, you said you  was awarded LCWRA FROM August 2019. after finally having assessment on 3rd January 2020, that doesn't sound correct. When was the actual decision made please?

I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • CMAB
    edited January 2020