Needs simplifying — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Needs simplifying

Andrewh
Andrewh Community member Posts: 5 Listener
edited January 2020 in PIP, DLA, and AA
I've been given 10 mobility points on PIP I'm just learning what I can get and not get. 
It is confusing the points system for things that we need. 
It needs to be simplified, I have mental health issues this is over my head.

Comments

• chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,007 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Andrewh - Welcome to the community & thank you for sharing. The 10 points mean you would get the standard rate for mobility; you need 12 or more points to get the enhanced rate. It is a complicated benefit that many have difficulty with unfortunately.
    May I ask did you get any points for the daily living component, & when did you get your decision letter?
  • Andrewh
    I got Server disability award 
  • Andrewh
    I just had massive row with family members. My mother too
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,357 Disability Gamechanger
    Andrewh said:
    I got Server disability award 

Hi and welcome,

If you've only received 10 points for the mobility part and no points for the daily living part then i'm afraid this doesn't qualify you for the severe disability premium. For this you'll need a daily living award of PIP and not just mobility.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • chiarieds
    Hi @Andrewh - I am sorry you have had a row with some family members, and hope things have settled down, and you are OK now.