PIP Recording my assessment question — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

PIP Recording my assessment question

Niffler
Niffler Community member Posts: 14 Courageous
Hi newbie here, my name is Niffler nice to meet you all!

I have my PIP assessment soon and am wanting to record it. Got the equipment ready and someone is coming with me.

But my question is...can the assessors refuse me to record the assessment despite me letting them know we intend to record it? We contacted them before hand,  and will ask in reception when we arrive. 

Reason is the last assessment was unbelievable?! The lies told were ridiculous as I don't have a post office anywhere near me or a wheelchair to get to work?!

Thanks for any advice/guidance in advance! ;)

Comments

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    @Niffler Hello and welcome to the community, its nice to see new members here.

As for your question Im no expert but my understanding is that you can record the assessment as long as you have informed them and use the equipment they request. You need to suppy 2 copies of the recording and hand one over. Im sure there is a guide about recording assessment son the website type into google recording PIP assessments. Good luck for your assessment and let us know how you get on
  • Niffler
    Thank you for your reply and nice to meet you @janer1967!

Ok, well we have prepared as much as we can. It's on Wednesday and will be phoning again tomorrow to confirm it with them too.

It's a nightmare isn't it?
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,330 Disability Gamechanger
    HI and welcome,

You will need to sign an agreement before the assessment begins. You also need to make sure that the tapes you use are unopened when you arrive in the assessment room.