Won tribunal — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Won tribunal

Hipgazelle92
Hipgazelle92 Community member Posts: 4 Listener
Hi I won a pip tribunal on Tuesday and got awarded advanced mobility. I got told by the judge that I would have to wait a few weeks for payment which is fine but I didn't know pip are aloud to appeal their decision and prolong everything else. So I was just wondering how likely it is that this will happen? I'm new to this I've never had pip before so I don't really understand and it's all getting to me and just making my anxiety worse then it needs to be. Thank you. 

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,357 Disability Gamechanger
    HI and welcome,

Great news! DWP have as much chance as we do to appeal the decision but first they have to request the statement of reasons and record of proceedings and they have 1 month from the date of decision to do this. Once they receive them they need to find the error in law before they can appeal the decision.

They sometimes request the SOR and ROP but rarely appeal it. All you can do is wait. Backdated money can take 2-8 weeks and about the same time to put an award into payment.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • Hipgazelle92
    Hi poppy thank you for replying do they always ask for a statement of reasons or is that just sometimes? 
  • poppy123456
    No problem. Sometimes, not always.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
  • Hipgazelle92