Query re:PIP LETTER RECEIVED — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Query re:PIP LETTER RECEIVED

Options
Daithi
Daithi Community member Posts: 11 Connected
I got a letter this morning indicating that the independent assessment service was seeking more information from my health professionals, despite me including a lot of supporting evidence within my initial application for PIP, and potentially as a result of the professionals response a decision may be reached without necessary speaking with me, have people experiences of this? 

Comments

• Daithi
    Options
    I’m a working psychiatric nurse, I have Bipolar Type 2, diagnosed 2 years ago, having avoided confronting this diagnosis for 10 years +, but have had symptoms for around 15years, I’ve never considered claiming DLA/PIP, I have relapsing remitting depressive episodes and occasionally mania, I have just enough energy to get through a days work but otherwise the illness has devastated my home live, I’ve gone from a outgoing busy person to being quite isolated, unable to motivate myself to mix with others or engaging in activities outside my home, avoiding or doing minimal stuff in terms of my necessary Activities of Daily Living, I get help and support from a good friend when I am particularly unwell who will do shopping or prompt me to wash / dress etc. I see my GP regularly when ill but avoid contact when I am out of relapse, I don’t know if I should claim for PIP, the reason I am hesitant is that I often minimise the impact of symptoms to my GP as I don’t want him to over react to my impaired functioning so i am not sure if I would have sufficient evidence to support a claim for PIP, can anyone advise me.
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,052 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    HI and welcome,