DLA High Rate Mobility for severe mental impairment — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

DLA High Rate Mobility for severe mental impairment

Youngibb82
Youngibb82 Community member Posts: 7 Listener
Hi everyone, I'm in the process of appealing the DLA decision to drop my son's DLA award from High rate mobility to Lower rate. Currently awaiting the 'appeal bundle'. I'm new to these kind of forums and have to say I like a fish out of water typing this but I'm looking if anyone can offer any advice in this area as I really don't know what other evidence I can provide to support his case. 
My son is 11 years old and has Downs Syndrome. He has always been in receipt of both the high rate care and high rate mobility. I reapplied last year and was told in December that he is still entitled to high rate care but lower rate mobility. I asked for a mandatory reconsideration as I feel his behavior meets all the necessary criteria. ie extreme, disruptive, could cause harm to himself and others etc.