My introduction — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

My introduction

Kev1374
Kev1374 Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Hello. I'm not really used to social media and I don't really interact too much with others so bear with me.
I've suffered from anxiety and depression for most of my life which exacerbated to my current situation after my mother and father died in the same year. This was just the last straw in quite a long line of events but I won't go into those.
Add to this that my mobility is deteriorating rapidly, I have chronic pain just about everywhere and have recently been diagnosed with diabetes. I worked as a carer for disabled people and those with learning difficulties for over twenty years and both loved and loathed every minute of it. (Loved the people I got to work with, loathed the bureaucracy, red tape and stupid regulations)
I applied for and received both ESA and PIP not long after becoming unable to work and that was the beginning of a further exacerbation of my condition, particularly my anxiety and depression. I'll share this here although I'm not sure if I'm supposed to;
I had a very helpful counselling intervention but afterwards suffered several knock backs, which I'm sure those others of you with mental health issues will appreciate can be devastating, but as far as my benefits were concerned things were rumbling along quite smoothly. I received the dreaded Health Reassessment Letter for PIP in 2018 and by this time was finding it difficult to sit and get up from regular chairs - I'm six feet eight inches tall just to add another element of challenge - so I contacted the assessment centre to ask if they could provide chair raisers for me. After a brief consultation with other assessment centres, I was told none of them provided anything like that but I was offered a home visit, which I accepted.
Big mistake!