Mobile phone contract while unemployed — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Mobile phone contract while unemployed

66Mustang
66Mustang Community member Posts: 13,368 Disability Gamechanger
I am usually against all forms of finance, borrowing etc. (apart from a mortgage). I'm of the opinion if I can't buy something outright I can't afford it. With that in mind I have been saving up for a new phone for 2 years while making do with my broken one and am now in the position to buy a new iPhone SE.

However, I found an incredibly good deal but it was on a contract. This meant they had to do a credit check, which came back as unsuccessful. They didn't say why but I am assuming it is because I am unemployed. I don't know what is checked during a credit check.

Does anyone here have any experience of phone contracts while being unemployed? Has anyone successfully gotten one? Or, is it normal for the credit check to be unsuccessful and is this because of unemployment or is there some other reason for the decline?

I have never had a credit check done against me in my life and this is a little bit of an insult as I am really disciplined with my finances and I am good at managing what little money I do have. :D

Comments

• OverlyAnxious
    OverlyAnxious Community member Posts: 2,586 Disability Gamechanger
    edited April 2020
    You can do a free credit check yourself via Experian etc.  That'll show your current rating.  

I've got a very good credit rating despite never being employed (except a part time job 10 years ago!) so I don't think that's the issue here.  

Do you have your own bank account or do your parents manage it?  

Oh, I've never had a phone contract btw, still on PAYG...I barely use a pound a year of credit! :D Tbh the most I use is a few minutes of data at the BP garage to use their 'fill & go' system on the app. I do get though a tonne of Wifi at home though!!
  • 66Mustang