New claim — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

New claim

Chillyboy7
Chillyboy7 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
I have been claiming PIP since 2016 for Bipolar and anxiety and had to complete an over the phone assessment last month to carry on with the claim, I was also involved in a serious road traffic accident in 2018 and now have serious physical problems aswell and although I was awarded pip again I have only been given it for 2 years until my physical injuries have improved which I am happy with but i wasn't given it for my mental health issues which is my main problem, even though I found the whole process of the interview extremely harrowing  I was refused the disability benefit that I had before because he assessor said that because I was able to talk over the phone i don't qualify, it is a catch 22 situation because if I had refused to agree to the interview and believe me I didn't want to do it because of the stress, anxiety and consequent depression it has caused and I haven't got anyone to help me) then I would have lost my benefit . Now I will have to appeal and no doubt have to go to a tribunal which I find terrifying.  What can I do ?.

Comments

• Awesomelorenzo
    Awesomelorenzo Community member Posts: 114 Connected
    Really? So you are okay because you can talk over the phone?
    Wow, that is stupid.
    Maybe you should've ignored the phone...
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,345 Disability Gamechanger

Maybe you should've ignored the phone...

If you know you're expecting a phone assessment why on earth would you choose to ignore the call? That's not the best advice to give because a person can lose their benefits if they did that.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.