Waiting for decision — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Waiting for decision

rubyjulie
rubyjulie Community member Posts: 7 Listener
Hi all
I am new to community scope. Was wondering how long people are waiting for PIP decision. I started my claim in February 2020. I've had a telephone assessment. I have since requested a copy of the report
 and received it. But how long before I get a decision. Is it based on regional workloads. I feel so stressed and sick of waiting.

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,333 Disability Gamechanger
    edited July 2020
    HI and welcome,

There's no timescales. It can be anything from 2-8 weeks, sometimes longer. It's depends on backlog in your area.

As you've received the report have you looked at the PIP descriptors online to see if an award is recommended? They usually go with the report, it's rare to go against it.

Once the decision is made if you're not happy then you'll have 1 month from that date to request the Mandatory Reconsideration.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • rubyjulie
    Hi
    Thanks for the welcome. Yes I've cross referenced the report with the descriptors. According to this I should be awarded enhanced on both counts. But until I receive the decision letter I'm not convinced. I feel physically sick waiting, it borders on cruel the length of time people are made to wait. Is
     there anyway I can contact my regional office to find out what's happening?
  • cupcake88
    cupcake88 Posts: 1,273 Pioneering
    Hi there and welcome to the community it’s very supportive and we are all here for you . I filled mind out in feb too and I have my phone accessment next week .