Private renting & HB — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Private renting & HB

sky982
sky982 Community member Posts: 29 Connected
I'm new to this trying to rent thing. I'm coming up against a lot of letting agencies/landlords that won't rent to people on benefits, even when I say its health related and I've got a guarantor. Yesterday a letting agent said something about a 'joint and several tenancy', although it would only be me living in the property and am I right in thinking I need the lease to just be in my name if I'm to claim HB?

Any tips and suggestions welcome, I have done an application for council housing.

:)

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,357 Disability Gamechanger
    HI,

Yes trying to find a landlord that will accept those claiming benefits is like trying to find a needle in a haystack. It may take you quite some time to find something but i hope you are successful.

Unfortunately, social housing (council) have extremely long waiting lists and it's like this across most of the country. In fact it's so long you may never be successful here.

I think the letting agency you spoke to may have been talking about living with other people, so a shared house.

Yes the tenancy agreement needs to be in your name for you to be able to claim for help with any rent, whether it's housing element (part of UC) or housing benefit. When privately renting you'll need the tenancy agreement as proof to be able to claim either of those.

Don't forget also that there's a maximum amount of local housing allowance that you'll be entitled to depending on your circumstances. Very often when privately renting the LHA doesn't cover all of your rent and you may have to top it up using your own money.

Hope this helps, good luck with your search.