Universal Credit (UC) and Severe Disability Premium (SDP) — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Universal Credit (UC) and Severe Disability Premium (SDP)

TaraHeart
TaraHeart Community member Posts: 13 Listener
edited September 2020 in Universal Credit (UC)
Hello people,

I have many questions but struggle to find answers!

I have been receiving UC since April 2020 (first claim following a hospital admission)
I receive Housing Benefit and the LCWRA element of UC.
My SSP (statutory sick pay) is due to end in October 2020.I have always worked before my health worsened. I have long term, progressive, health issues.
Will they automatically move me on to income related ESA when my SSP ends?

I am aged 60 years, live alone, and my daughter stays regularly overnight to provide care. No one claims anything for looking after me. 

I have recently received my PIP award, and received the enhanced rate for  daily living needs, and enhanced rate for mobility needs.
I understand that there is no SDP on this new style UC. However, is it not possible for me to choose to  go on to the benefits that UC replaces? Some sites say this choice is possible, some say it is not. Can anyone clarify?

Also my UC statement shows that the Benefit Cap will not apply to me until March 2021. Should this not apply to me anyway as I'm in the LCWRA group? Or is it yet another change? Does anyone know?

As I was a new claimant I had no choice about the UC handed to me, but as the likelihood of me ever working again is zero, I would take this matter further if my available choices (on this new UC) leave me worse off (than just applying for each entitlement separately as of old) due to my disability.

Any thoughts or  advice would be such a bonus.

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,345 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi and welcome.