Hi, im Shnek64! Why haven't I been furloughed? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, im Shnek64! Why haven't I been furloughed?

Shnek64
Shnek64 Community member Posts: 9 Listener
edited January 2021 in Work and employment
Wondering why my work won't furlough me as this is my 2nd stint of shielding. 1st time I was on full pay as am entitled to 6 months full pay in a calendar year but getting close to running out. The choice I have been given is ssp or working from home which means laptop work which is out of my comfort zone. I am a process tech in the agro-chem industry.

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,352 Disability Gamechanger
    edited January 2021
    HI and welcome,

When shielding SSP is correct and not furlough. The Government have advised people to work from home where possible and your employer has said you can do this. If you choose not to do this then it will be SSP. No one is entitled to furlough, it's entirely the decision of your employer.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • Shnek64
    Correct, but why would my company deny me this if they want to keep me on the books rather than only receiving ssp ?
  • poppy123456
    You have been asked to work from home, which is what the Government have advised even for those that are shielding. Furlough is really only susposed to be used when there is no work for you. You can't force your employer to furlough you. See link.

I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
  • poppy123456