Did you know what support was available for you and your child? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Did you know what support was available for you and your child?

Options
Lakey88
Lakey88 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
I am an SEN teacher in the early years and I am always so astounded that many parents come to me when first starting at school, with such lack of support. I would love to be able to offer more support but I am not sure how to do this? 

Did you know what support was available for you and your child? 0 votes

Did you feel supported around the time of diagnosis?
0%
Did you know where to look for such support?
0%
Would it be beneficial to have someone who could support with practical strategies in the home?
0%
If this person could also provide support with paperwork, statements, schooling, would that be of a benefit?
0%
Would you pay for such a service?
0%

Comments

• Cher_Alumni
    Cher_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,741 Disability Gamechanger
    edited January 2021
    Options
    Hi @Lakey88 and welcome to our community.

You've caught on to a key issue we see in members posts and I think there's a genuine need for improved communication around early years support.  It's great that you want to do something about it.

Unfortunately, our polls don't allow people to select multiple options so if anyone wants to leave more feedback, please do so by leaving comments below  :)
    Online Community Co-ordinator

Want to tell us about your experience on the online community?  Talk to our chatbot and let us know.

Concerned about another member's safety or wellbeing? Flag your concerns with us.
  • 66Mustang
    66Mustang Community member Posts: 13,609 Disability Gamechanger
    edited January 2021
    Options
    I want to answer for myself if that is OK as I have some experience. I’m now an adult but have experienced the SEN world as a child.