University disability project on gardening tools — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

University disability project on gardening tools

GizGaz
GizGaz Community member Posts: 10 Listener
edited January 2021 in Research and opportunities
Dear all,
I am a university student in the second year of my product design course.
In my last project of the year, I have been asked to look into gardening tools and ways of making them more user-friendly.
However, instead of just making something better just by looks, I would prefer to improve it in order for everyone to use them.
I have to design a gardening tool( such as a lawn mower), but am not aware of the different necessities to make this task easier.
My initial idea would be to make a mount in which wheelchairs could attach to the lawn mower.
Please give me your opinions or ideas.
Kind regards,
Really thankful.

Comments

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi and welcome 

I'm a wheelchair user and would find it impossible to operate a lawn mower 

How could you get it out of shed ? 

How could you control mower and propel chair at same time 

Wheelchairs if manual are no good on grass 

Just a few points 
  • chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,007 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @GizGaz - & welcome to the community. This sounds like a great idea considering the needs of disabled people. As a keen gardener myself, I wish you well. Sorry, I don't know a thing about lawnmowers, as my garden is all raised beds & containers.
  • Lisatho11987777
    Lisatho11987777 Scope Member Posts: 5,911 Disability Gamechanger
    @GizGaz when you say a mount for wheel chair users  what do you mean exactly I am realy interested how that would work 
  • GizGaz