employers please themselves and flout the law — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

employers please themselves and flout the law

Hellsbells12
Hellsbells12 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited February 2021 in Work and employment
Hello Everyone,
I thought I would join this forum as I believe, having Rheumatoid Arthritis for over 16years, that protection is minimal for disabled people and employers please themselves and flout the law.
Tagged:

Comments

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi and welcome on board 

Have a look around and feel free to join in 

Are you having issues with work or is it just a general comment 
  • Hellsbells12
    Hellsbells12 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    I work as a nurse and struggle with the shift patterns of 12hours. The pattern follows 2 shifts on and 2 off, followed by 3 shifts on and vice versa. I have asked for a change to my work or shifts but my employer has refused. What does anybody recommend that I should do next? Can I also say that there have been other jobs given to other members of staff that didn't get advertised and I feel I could have done some of these as nursing is a career with transferable skills.
  • janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi again 

Put a request in writing for a reasonable adjustment under the equality act 

However they only need to consider this but would need to give valid reason for not being able to accommodate 

Another way would be to ask to be referred to oh for a work place assessment and they can then make recommendations on any adjustments required 

Not all jobs have to be advertised however it is good practice to do so to give everyone equal opportunity 
  • chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,007 Disability Gamechanger