Waiting for autism assessment in temporary accommodation — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Waiting for autism assessment in temporary accommodation

Options
san23
san23 Community member Posts: 8 Listener
Hello Everyone, this is my first time on scope. I am in need of advice please.
my son is 3years old.He has complex medical history,4 surgeries,11 weeks premature born with intrauterine growth restriction with extremely small birth weight of 625 grams,intensive care stay of 4.5 months,chronic lungs disease supported by supplement oxygen,necrotising enterocolitis,nasogastric feeds,grade 2 brain haemorrhage,currently he is diagnosed with Failure to thrive,Bronchiolitis, growth developmental delay,severe speech delay, learning and behaviour difficulties, social and communication difficulties, recently had gastrostomy surgery,PEG fed through stomach, severe oral aversion,sensory aversion,nil by mouth,only water intake,does not 
respond to his name, does not talk,cannot communicate his needs,is able to walk but cannot walk upstairs/downstairs, not able to jump or kick ball,at significant risk of neurodevelopmental delay because of extreme prematurity and waiting for autism assessment by Community Paediatrician.

Under care of more than 9 health professionals.Attends special needs nursery, space allocated by SEND after assessment.

we are staying in one room temporary accommodation from last 2 years along with my husband. I have been placed on band 3A as moderate priority. I have asked for rehousing and to consider his medical needs for placement, but getting no response. Asked children services if they can do child in need assessment but they refused saying they only intervene on safeguarding issues. I should deal with housing department myself. He does not have diagnosis and they cannot help.